Talk

Advanced search

Pregnant? See how your baby develops, your body changes, and what you can expect during each week of your pregnancy with the Mumsnet Pregnancy Calendar.

What do new babies sleep under and other clueless first timer questions..

(23 Posts)
greenlizard Fri 06-Feb-15 13:36:20

We have ordered a snuz pod for our baby due in March but I have just realised I don't actually know what should I put over him when he goes to sleep? I am thinking he will be in a sleep suit (no flies on me!) and will be a little young for a sleeping bag to start with so what should I get - a cotton blanket? Sheets?

Should I buy a baby bath, bath support, bucket?
What should I get for overnight trips for him to sleep in?
Am I posting on the right thread?
Anything else I should know/get?

I am a total novice as so I bow to your collective wisdom. grin

RobotHamster Fri 06-Feb-15 13:40:33

I'm a huge advocate of the swaddle wraps. Yes you can use a blanket, but the wraps are so easy and they're much harder for them to wriggle out of. I always put a blanket underneath and wrap it around over baby as well. But yes, normal cellular blankets are all fine if you're not keen on swaddling. Just steer clear of synthetic fabrics.

We had a baby bath with a support, and again, always thought they were pointless but it was so so good.

Overnight trips - travel cot with bassinet, or when tiny you can buy little pop up cots if you're after something small.

GoooRooo Fri 06-Feb-15 13:44:46

When DS was a newborn we used cellular blankets until he was big enough to go into a sleeping bag.

lilyevans Fri 06-Feb-15 13:46:25

Baby baths complete waste of money, bath seats are far easier, I have a 16 week old ds and he has been in sleeping bags since about 2 weeks before that fleecy blanket folded in half.

GoooRooo Fri 06-Feb-15 13:50:57

YY - baby baths total waste of money. Ours was used once.

greenlizard Fri 06-Feb-15 14:03:14

Great thanks. Any recommendations for swaddle wraps?