Talk

Advanced search

Confused about Maternity Leave...

(15 Posts)
ThenewMrsB82 Sun 11-Jan-15 17:43:31

Hi Everyone,

Maybe it's just baby brain but I have read lots of maternity docs and rights etc.. in fact I think I've read every webpage out there and still don't know how much notice I have to give to go on Maternity leave.

I am a teacher, the gov.uk website says that I can go on 12th April at the earliest but I'm not sure when I have to tell my employer if I want to go at this earliest possible point.

I know I have to tell them 15 weeks before the baby is due but that's only about a week before I intend on going on leave so I definitely can't leave it that long.

Any advice is very welcome, thank you.
x

TestingTestingWonTooFree Sun 11-Jan-15 17:46:17

It would be courteous to give them as much notice as possible. When do you plan to tell people about your pregnancy?

Dukketeater Sun 11-Jan-15 17:52:18

If you go on ML at 26 weeks PG and the baby is 2 weeks late then you face 16 weeks of wasted ML you could have spent with your baby... Your choice of course but food for thougt... I'd work on another 10 weeksto 36 weeks

MrsCK Sun 11-Jan-15 17:55:15

You have to tell them by 15 weeks prior to the due date...or 25 weeks pg. you say that leaves a week before you intend to go off? are you really going on maternity at 26 weeks pg? If so..I think the earliest you can actually go off is 29 weeks.

I would be open and honest from now though. Book a meeting with your head and voice out your thoughts. they'll need to find cover and there's no harm in talking to them about it.

rosedavo Sun 11-Jan-15 18:20:23