Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Calorie intake whilst pregnant

(9 Posts)
dancinglorna1984 Sat 06-Dec-14 21:15:28

Hi everyone,

I am new to mumsnet as I have recently discovered me and my husband are expecting our first baby in August.

I have been reading information on various websites and forums regarding weight gain during pregnancy and found pretty much everywhere has its own opinion... I am in the process of waiting for my first midwife appointment so at present I am slightly unsure what to think.

As I fell pregnant a lot quicker than I ever expected I did hope to lose some more weight before hand and for my height I would be classed as 'overweight'. So basically I am trying (and failing) to establish how many calories I need to consume on a daily basis to maintain my weight and limit the amount I put on whilst ensuring the baby is healthy.

Any opinions and advice would be much appreciated.

Thank you smile

ToriB34 Sat 06-Dec-14 21:30:18

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Jaffakake Sat 06-Dec-14 21:46:36

Yep, no actual eating for 2 is recommended. The 3rd is where you're 'allowed' an extra slice of brown toast a day or something! I'd recommend just seeing how you go. I believe you can do Slimming World whilst pg if it's of concern to you, but tbh I'd just go with how you feel. Personally I can't imagine being hungry whilst pg. if you plan on giving breast feeding a go, it's a great way of shifting those fat stores that you will naturally lay down.