Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Recruiting your own maternity cover

(11 Posts)
KentExpecting Fri 05-Dec-14 09:03:30

I'm due in March and I've just started recruiting for my own maternity cover. I'm a fairly senior manager in a large multinational organisation. I have several direct reports and work very internationally, with people around the globe. It's a cool job - but very complex, I'm involved in a million different projects and my boss is very aware that he won't cope well while I'm off (probably because he usually passes off my work as his... grrrrr...).

So, I knew that finding mat cover for my job would be tricky because my job spec is so complex. We've been advertising for a couple of weeks and have only had 2 CVs that look relevant enough to be worth an interview. The problem is that both of these candidates have salary expectations that are well above my own salary. Around 20% above. And my salary isn't ridiculously low to start with.

All my boss is saying that we need to 'manage salary expectations' from those applicants - but I think if he likes one of them, he'll just pay them that much more.

How would you handle this situation? I'm really, really struggling with the idea of replacing myself with someone who would be paid that much more to cover part of my job for 9 months. They wouldn't even cover all of it - we've slimmed the job down a bit to make it managable for an external candidate.

Has anyone been there/done that? How did you feel about it and how did you get over the negative feelings if you had any?

Also, my review is due in January. Do you think I can use this to try to get a massive pay rise? But I suppose the likelihood of getting any kind of pay rise just before I go off on maternity leave is slim to none?

Trapper Fri 05-Dec-14 09:11:55