Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Bleeding and pain at 7 weeks - just need to talk to someone

(15 Posts)
MelB2014 Thu 04-Dec-14 10:34:21

Hello, I'm new to mumsnet and a bit in shock at the moment. This might be long but I need to vent (sorry in advance).

I came off the pill earlier in the year, after being on it for 12 years due to problems with very painful irregular periods and endometriosis. 3 months ago, my periods actually seemed to settle into a 28 day cycle and to my (and my husband's) surprise, on Friday last week we did a HPT and it was positive. I had been having some side effects like sore boobs and feeling very tired and nauseous, but also spotting of brown or pink blood, so went to my GP on Monday. I last had my period on 16th October, making me now 7 weeks.

On Tuesday, I woke up at 12.30am in excruciating pain. I went to the bathroom and discovered that I was bleeding bright red blood. The pain was horrendous, I felt very sick and then passed out on the bathroom floor (I have a lovely bumped head). When I woke up I managed to crawl to the bedroom and wake my husband up. The rest is a bit of a blur as I kept losing consciousness and was in so much pain I couldn't really speak. He phoned 111 and they sent an ambulance.

I went to the EPU at the local hospital, and the nurse said I wasn't bleeding heavily enough to be miscarrying (it was mainly evident upon wiping rather than soaking pads). After a couple of hours, the doctor checked me and my cervix was still closed, but she cleaned away quite a bit of blood.