Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Dumb questions about sleeping arrangements

(9 Posts)
stripycreature Thu 27-Nov-14 18:55:49

I'm nearly 34 weeks pregnant with my first baby. As her arrival gets nearer, I'm worrying more about sleeping arrangements, in that I know absolutely nothing about them.

Things like: I have 3 loudly ticking clocks in my bedroom, as it distracts my from my loud tinnitus. Will they bother the baby?

I have thin curtains which let in light, so you can always tell when it's daylight outside. Will this wake the baby?

I hate sleeping in the dark (although I can), so usually have a lamp on. I have the idea that babies sleep better in the dark, but then I've read about nightlights. I'm confused.
What's best?

I have no experience of babies at all(never even held one), so I'm still trying to cram as much as I can before she's here. But I haven't seen much info on this kind of thing.

Any advice would be very much appreciated.

weelamb123 Thu 27-Nov-14 19:19:20

Babies will sleep in any environment and most noises wont wake them. It is good to get them into a routine and have them in dark room at bedtime though.

You probably wont get into a proper routine fir a weeks so u'll know what's best for her after a couple of weeks. ��

Dogsmom Thu 27-Nov-14 19:23:44

It takes them a while to differentiate between night and day and newborns sleep a lot so the lights and noise won't bother her, we had our dd in with us until 6 months so she was subject to any noise or light we had but once she was in her own room I've always closed the door and turned off the light.