Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Constant trapped wind in stomach - is this normal???

(12 Posts)
Cullen8 Wed 12-Nov-14 04:54:05

Hi, I am brand new to all this. 5weeks preg wth 1st child & for the last 3 days I have had the worst stomach pains from trapped wind. I don't know anyone else that has had this as a symptom before & I am kind of freaking out. Has this happened to anyone else? sad

whitechocolatestars Wed 12-Nov-14 04:59:11

Yes I often did in first trimester. Try to eat small portions regularly rather than big meals, exercise if you're up to it, or else gaviscon works well and is safe to use. It shouldn't last throughout.

whitechocolatestars Wed 12-Nov-14 04:59:29

And congratulations!

whitechocolatestars Wed 12-Nov-14 05:01:57

Usual disclaimer, see a doctor if you're worried

Cullen8 Wed 12-Nov-14 05:10:45

Whitechocolatestars - you have no idea how relieved I am to hear that! It jutted doesn't seem to be a symptom that gets mentioned a lot. How long did it last 4 with you? Thanks heaps smile

Minion Wed 12-Nov-14 05:39:43

Peppermint tea and getting on all fours with bum in air are your best friends right about now.
It goes, I promise...

HappyAsASandboy Wed 12-Nov-14 07:37:48

Yes, entirely normal. You might start farting all the time too.

Peppermint tea always helped for me smile

LG1979 Wed 12-Nov-14 08:01:32

I'm currently 7 weeks pregnant and have been 'windy' for the last 2-3 weeks! Apparently it's totally normal in the beginning smile

Lea2014 Wed 12-Nov-14 08:08:34

Im currently 18wks and have just started experiencing this got too 29 without getting tramped wind - Not bad! i swear by Rennie Deflatine they ease the pains and help with bloating, good luck and congrats smile

LetticeKnollys Wed 12-Nov-14 08:18:11

I had a phase of this around the end of the first/beginning of the second tri. Hope it passes for you too!