Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Noobie needing reassurance

(10 Posts)
hotfuzzra Fri 28-Mar-14 15:51:15

Hello all,
I am new to mumsnet today. A week ago I found out I was pregnant (6 weeks now). We only got married NYE and I came off the pill whilst on honeymoon, so we are (happily) surprised it was so quick!
I'm concerned that it might not work out (the pregnancy not my marriage!). I am 32, not overweight, fit and healthy and don't smoke. I'm taking folic/vit pills, stopped drinking, and doing my best to do the right things. I have never been pregnant before, I am not aware of any family medical problems, my sister has had two successful uncomplicated pregnancies, but I can't shake the fear that something will go wrong and we'll lose it.
I'm scared to tell family and work (I work in a very physical job, and am expected to tell my supervisors so that my role can change whilst I am pregnant to support me)
I am not superstitious but I don't want to tempt fate/jinx it etc
Have many mums here tried and been lucky straight away?
The first doctors appointment I could get is Tues, I hope I can talk through some of these issues with her too.
Thanks in advance, sorry if I'm being a worrier, normally very relaxed and laissez-faire

PenguinsEatSpinach Fri 28-Mar-14 15:58:13

Congratulations!

Unfortunately, there really is very little you can do at this stage to affect the outcome (bar the obvious not doing tequila shots and snorting cocaine, obviously!). And really very little the doctor can tell you. It's hard, but you just have to wait and see. And bear in mind that, although very early miscarriages are common, the odds are still on your side that things will go well.