Talk

Advanced search

Just found our I'm pregnant and new job starts!!!

(11 Posts)
Snook99 Fri 07-Mar-14 08:56:00

I have just found out I'm pregnant, and went for an interview yesterday and they want me to have a trail today and start next week as a trainee dental nurse. Should I/ do I have to tell them? Feel really bad as I thought my previous job was settled genes trying for a baby sad x

JeanSeberg Fri 07-Mar-14 09:00:45

Congratulations! Start the job and tell them about the pregnancy at the appropriate time, I'm assuming you're just a few weeks at the moment and wouldn't plan on telling an employer until you are 12+ weeks.

Wineandchoccy Fri 07-Mar-14 09:01:38

I was a dental nurse and the only advice I can give you is you will be stood on your feet a lot, when your bump gets big you may struggle to assist the dentist at chair side.

Will you be starting the NVQ or national college course? Can you fit this in while being pregnant?

Money? Would you get maternity pay?

Writerwannabe83 Fri 07-Mar-14 09:01:56

I think you need to tell them as there may be implications with you being involved in taking x-rays. I used to be a Dental Nurse and whilst I worked there were 2 pregnant women and I'm sure there were some things they were excluded from doing. It was a long time ago though so can't remember the exacts and things may have changed now. But in terms of x-rays, you definitely need to tell them.

Congratulations on getting the job - I loved doing it smile

NoArmaniNoPunani Fri 07-Mar-14 09:04:30

As a dentist I would need to know my nurse is pregnant because of working with X-rays and potentially hazardous materials.

Snook99 Fri 07-Mar-14 09:06:10