Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Police officer...when should I tell work?

(28 Posts)
sarahfirstbabyxXx Mon 03-Mar-14 15:08:16

Hi there. I've just discovered that I'm pregnant. 5 weeks today :-) This is my first baby and I haven't told anyone yet (not even my mum). This makes it hard when I have so many questions!

I'm a police officer. Obviously there are risks with my job and I'm wondering whether anyone had any advice as to when to tell my Sergeant.

Also I feel like my doctor isn't bothered. He doesn't want to see me and just asked me to self refer. Is this normal? I feel like I need to speak to a health care professional to make sure everything is okay.

Lottiedoubtie Mon 03-Mar-14 15:15:23

Yes, normal in lots of areas to self refer to the midwives. But do book a GPs appointment if you are on any medication or have any specific concerns. They can do very little at this stage if you are otherwise well though.

I'd say tell your boss ASAP as I imagine in your job you're going to need them to risk assess to keep you safe from now really. But I have no experience of the police personally.

Wearegoingtobedlehem Mon 03-Mar-14 15:21:03

I suspect you ought to say straight away to allow them to put you on light duties ( pre maternity duties) as they do for other front line staff (paras)? Assuming its the same across the board that is?

Hughes congrats btw thanks

SweetPea86 Mon 03-Mar-14 15:28:09

Hey Hun Congratulations firstly.

Yes! I would tell work straight away.
Massively respect police officers so you need to make sure your number one and look after your self. Work will need to do a risk ass.

smile

SellyMevs Mon 03-Mar-14 15:36:50

Congratulations!

I'm a paramedic. I told them at 7 weeks. I could have told them earlier, but by 7 weeks I had awful fatigue and morning sickness. I couldn't physically handle 12 hour night shifts.