Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

10.5wks, some bleeding... advice please

(22 Posts)
Orlea Mon 03-Mar-14 15:02:29

Just had some bleeding for the first time this weekend, only when I wipe but I am a bit worried as this is my first time and I'm pretty clueless. It's not very heavy and mostly brown (slightly stringy, sorry if tmi) but there was a small amount of definitely red blood twice. I've checked various books, looked on here and googled. I then called my midwife... and got an answering machine. This was mid-morning today. I've tried again about half a dozen times since then (left two messages) and still only getting the answering machine. What do I do now? I don't want to overreact...

Some of what I've read has been reassuring, some less so, but the general consensus seemed to be to check with your midwife first of all, which isn't possible unless someone answers the phone or calls me back! So what should I do right now? I'm at work where no one knows yet, so I would prefer to have a quick chat with someone (my midwife!) who can tell me if I do need to leave and get checked out or not, rather than asking to leave the office early for an undisclosed reason as they are a bit funny about that here... Not that I know where to go if I do leave - do I just rock up at A&E? Or my GP? Help please!

eurochick Mon 03-Mar-14 15:03:59

Do you have an early pregnancy unit near you that takes self-referrals?

Orlea Mon 03-Mar-14 15:07:29

I don't know! I've googled but can only find very basic info on the two 'local' hospitals, neither of which is remotely nearby. I've also called one of them and it just rings and rings... It's difficult to keep stepping out of the office to make calls as well, people notice, and definitely can't do it at my desk, bloody open plan offices.

ThatBloodyWoman Mon 03-Mar-14 15:09:02