Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

midwife

(17 Posts)
babymadtammy17 Fri 21-Feb-14 11:50:25

Heya guys I'm new to this so any help is really appreciated, I'm 9 weeks pregnant with my first baby. Thing is I have my first midwife apt on tuesday and I've no idea what to expect or if I have to take anything with me ect, can I take my mum and partner or just one?. I'm in scotland if that helps. Thanks

Banana82 Fri 21-Feb-14 12:02:09

Hi babymad and congratulations on your pregnancy!

I had my booking in at 10 weeks and it was about an hour long with the midwife asking lots of questions about my health and my partners health, any previous pregnancies, health issues etc. which they use to fill out your green notes. This was followed by a blood test and urine test, blood pressure, height and weight. I went by myself as have been told by friends its a fairly mundane appointment, although I was excited for it! My partner wasn't needed for it.

MummyPig24 Fri 21-Feb-14 12:02:47

I don't think there is rules about who you can take. I've taken my dh and both dcs before. Usually I go alone though.

You need to take a urine sample in a sterile container but that's it.

Basically it's a paperwork appointment. Loads of questions about medical history and your health. She will take blood and check your blood pressure and weigh you. I think that's about all though.

MummyPig24 Fri 21-Feb-14 12:03:04

And of course, congratulations!

babymadtammy17 Fri 21-Feb-14 13:40:27

Aww thanks guys really helped me out! I'm rather nervous and keep asking myself such random questions, this site has helped a lot x

Writerwannabe83 Fri 21-Feb-14 14:34:11