Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Booking appointment/Dating scan

(17 Posts)
Miriama Wed 19-Feb-14 20:03:55

Just looking for a bit of advice, as this is my first time! I spoke to my GP on Friday 14th (very romantic!) and told him I was pregnant, he said that a community midwife would be in touch with me. I have received a letter advising of a scan date next Thursday 28th which is great, but should I have had a booking in appointment before then? I'm a bit confused about what needs to happen next! I'm in SE London - any advice gratefully received!

Hobby2014 Wed 19-Feb-14 21:30:26

I'm not sure but this is what Ive had:
Doctors at 7 weeks, he wasn't bothered and said go to reception and book appointment with midwife.
Midwife appointment at 8 weeks to basically book up my booking appointment.
Booking appointment at 9 weeks. This is when they gave me my scan date.
Scan at 12 weeks.
Midwife appointment at 16 for blood results, heartbeat etc.
Im 17 weeks now.
Scan in 3 weeks.
Next midwife appointment in 7 weeks.

SandwichBag Wed 19-Feb-14 21:41:04

I saw my doctor at 6 weeks. She booked me in with the hospital of my choice (after we had a little discussion about it), booked me in with the midwife and sorted my exemption form. I was very impressed!

Exemption card arrived the next week.

(Had a private scan at 8 weeks as too impatient)

Saw the midwife at 9 weeks. She weighed me, took bloods, urine sample and booked me in to their system (long questionnaire). As I wanted the NF scan and combi blood test she faxed over my scan form to the hospital whilst I was there (even putting the dates down I couldn't make).

Got my letter with scan date a week later, which is taking place tomorrow when I will be 11+ 6.

I have called and made my next midwife appointment according to the schedule I was given at my booking in which will be when I'm 15 weeks.