Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Pregnant and newly broken up from long term partner - have faith or move on?

(7 Posts)
excitedmummytobe Sun 16-Feb-14 19:30:29

Hi, Im new to mumsnet and I am 5weeks pregnant yay! grin after 8 long months of trying with my partner we broke up an hour before i took the positive test! (also valentines daysad) we are very in love and very compatible but I realised he cannot take the blame for anything and minimises my feelings (immature) which caused us to argue alot. I decided it would be best if we broke up because all the stress would not be good for the baby and he agreed. I have no doubt he will be an amazing dad regardless of the outcome of the relationship. its all been very amicable.

Deep down (he said this himself too) we both want the same thing. To take the time to resolve our issues individually and hopefully make it work, together down the line. We are 20 and 23, so my question is: Is it naieve to have faith that its possible that we could have our happy ending or should i just resign myself to the heartbreaking thought that we just dont work and move on?

EirikurNoromaour Sun 16-Feb-14 19:31:58

How long have you been together? What makes you so sure he will be an amazing dad if he's that immature?

vj32 Sun 16-Feb-14 19:41:42

20 is very young to be a parent unless you are a very mature person anyway. Pregnancy is very stressful and can strain a relationship, especially if you have any sort of complications. You could breeze through pregnancy or you could end up almost permanently sick, uncomfortable, tired and irritable.