Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Help a Newbie - I'm new to the UK and to Pregnancy

(16 Posts)
BluegrassLass Tue 11-Feb-14 19:38:52

I'm an American that's moved here to the UK (Scotland specifically) about 5months ago, with my British hubby. As my prior post here said, I think I'm around 3 weeks pregnant. I honestly have no idea of what to do next. Not only do I have no clue about pregnancy (I'm techie geek that never paid much attention to kids), but I'm new to the NHS system as well.

Can anyone give me an idea of what steps are next, when tests are, what kind of tests, when/how often are ultrasounds done? Is there a handy reference guide somewhere that lays all this out? My hubby isn't any help whatsoever with this, and neither is my mother-in-law, as she gave birth to my hubby in South Africa.

Any guidance is very much appreciated!

JuanFernandezTitTyrant Tue 11-Feb-14 19:45:08

The nhs website is very helpful on this score but, essentially, you should contact your GP and ask how to get referred to the midwives. The GP almost certainly won't confirm a home pregnancy test but will just take your word for it.

The you'll have booking in with the midwives (they ask a load of questions about your health and history) and get into the system. Scans at 12ish and 20ish weeks unless you have complications. Appointments with your midwife about every 4 weeks until you get close to term then very two weeks.

It's all very anti-climactic I'm afraid grin

yummystepford Tue 11-Feb-14 19:45:24

It depends on each area. Make sure if you haven't already, to register with your local GP. Make an appointment in the next few weeks and tell them you are pregnant. You will see the midwife around 8-10 weeks, a scan at 12 weeks and 20 weeks and regular midwife appointments. Less midwife appointments if it's not your first baby.

Carsandtrucks Tue 11-Feb-14 19:52:51