Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

How important are the classes?!

(25 Posts)
hydeyhi91 Tue 21-May-13 23:22:13

Hello everyone smile
First post to Mumsnet and hoping for some words of wisdom!
I'm currently 31 weeks pregnant and yet to go to (or book any!) ante-natal classes. Did anyone find them absolutely essential or can I get away with not attending any?
I would have loved to have gone to some but I'm a full time student in my final year and with all my essays and dissertation there just hasn't been time to factor them in. My partner is also a full time medical student so I would have been going it alone anyway!
It is now dawning on me however that I have to actually give birth in the next 10 weeks haha! hmm and I am a) slightly terrified of pushing out a human and b) have no idea what to do!

What are peoples experiences of labour who didn't go to any birthing classes?
And similarly those who did, were they a complete life saver?

Thanks in advance!
x

GrandPoohBah Tue 21-May-13 23:28:41

I went to the NHS class, which was 4ish hours on a Saturday. I think it was worth it in as much as I was quite well read on the whole subject and I did find out things I didn't know about it - plus they did an extra session on breast feeding which I found useful, if a little wishy washy (I.e weren't prepared to discuss the fact that it might hurt or that tongue tie could be a problem we may encounter). Good advice on positioning though.

craftycottontail Tue 21-May-13 23:29:38

Hey smile

There's a recent thread here which will give you some views on the NHS classes

http://www.mumsnet.com/Talk/pregnancy/1759120-Nhs-antenatal-classes

As for experiences of labour I'm still waiting (40 weeks today!) so hopefully others can answer that!

TigerSwallowTail Tue 21-May-13 23:34:28