Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Occupational maternity pay

(9 Posts)
nicola1982 Thu 25-Apr-13 14:18:08

Hi,

First post on here and am looking for advice re: my rights to occupational maternity pay. I'm a primary teacher who started working at a school in November 2012 which I found through an agency. The head teacher offered me a permanent job before Christmas and said she would interview me during the first week of January. Unfortunately she was unwell and wasn't at work for most of the month. My interview was subsequently moved to February, when I was made permanent.

Today I have been notified that I won't qualify for my local authority's occupational pay, that I would have needed to have been employed from the end of January for it to have been approved. I don't qualify for SMP as I joined the school whilst already 4 months pregnant which I understand but feel pretty pissed off that I now won't receive any occupational pay ( 4 weeks at full pay minus SMP and then 8 weeks at half pay, again minus SMP).

Does anyone have any advice? Could I challenge my school to move the date of my employment back to January? It doesn't seems fair that I miss out on any pay because the head was unwell and so couldn't interview me. I was in school doing the work of a class teacher for 3 months at a very low agency rate as it is so really need the money and am panicking at how I will now have to survive on maternity allowance!
Any advice would be appreciated.

BabyHMummy Thu 25-Apr-13 14:20:10

I would speak to your union rep as they are more likey to be able to help. Although if you are planning to go back after then rocking the boat may not be your best option.

nicola1982 Thu 25-Apr-13 14:37:08