Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

TMI weed myself while being sick, is that normal?

(11 Posts)
rrreow Mon 22-Apr-13 15:18:40

Am 32w with 2nd pregnancy (vaginal birth with DC1) and haven't had any complaints with my pelvic floor. I can sneeze as much as I like without leaking any wee and never feel like I'm going to wee myself or my pelvic floor muscles are too weak. However, yesterday I had to throw up (not actually pregnancy related, I was cleaning up DC1s vomit and it made me throw up - I'm not good with sick!) and while I was heaving/throwing up I totally peed my pants (not just a tiny bit, had to change my clothes...). Does this mean my pelvic floor is not in as good a shape as I thought or is it normal??

HumphreyCobbler Mon 22-Apr-13 15:23:31

This has happened to a fair few of my friends. I think it is the process of being sick that has caused it?

K8Middleton Mon 22-Apr-13 15:27:25

Even those of us with the most robust pelvic floor all through first pg and after can suddenly get stress incontinence with the second. I was lucky that tightly crossed legs and a good brace position was enough to prevent disaster but as it got towards the end of pg I didn't feel very confident in my pelvic floor.

Do your pelvic floor exercises and cross your legs fingers that once the baby's out all will be well.

Squeeeeeeeze smile

cupcake78 Mon 22-Apr-13 15:29:09

Yes, happened to me and a few friends. It's the pressure on your bladder. Do your pelvic floor exercises as much as you can!

galwaygirl Mon 22-Apr-13 15:29:55

I had this problem earlier in this pregnancy and not just from throwing up, from coughing too. I'm hoping its fixable afterwards and have luckily managed to avoid another cough/stomach bug since.

UC Mon 22-Apr-13 15:30:45

I'd say pretty normal at your stage of second pregnancy! Your pelvic floor will be under some strain!