Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

father of my baby (due sept 2013) has another baby due a month later... help

(24 Posts)
London2DevonMama Wed 17-Apr-13 12:43:48

I only joined this site the other day as I felt you might be able to assist me and offer some advice re my situation.
I am a 24 year old professional female living in London. In January 2013 I discovered I was pregnant. The baby's father was an old friend who I met years ago (when I was roughly 16) and saw again in December 2012. Over the course of Christmas we met up a few times and had sex.
I didn't tell him for 3 weeks after I found out as I needed time to decide on my own what to do, and to be sure that I made my decision regardless of his opinion or involvement, as I felt I could potentially be happy going to forward being a single mum if he said he was adament he didn't want to be a part in the baby's life. When I told him initially he was negative - he was anxious and shocked and worried and didn't want a baby. He is 27 years old. He lives in Devon. Despite his negativity and shock, he said from the word go that he would be involved and be supportive and be a good father to the baby.
Fast forward 3 months - we'd been in semi-regular contact. I'd been meeting up with him every few weeks to have a chat, share experiences, get to know each other a little more. Slowly I felt as though I could be reassured that he would be there for me and the baby, and that he was starting to feel more positive and even slightly excited about the baby's arrival.