Talk

Advanced search

Pregnant? See how your baby develops, your body changes, and what you can expect during each week of your pregnancy with the Mumsnet Pregnancy Calendar.

Effing SPD! Help me to cope!

(10 Posts)
intergalacticwalrus Fri 12-May-06 08:04:21

Have developed SPD, and still have 18 weeks to go Have spent much of the last fortnight hobbling like an old woman in agony. I work as a music teacher, which involes lots of getting up and down, and also playing the cello, which involves spending much of the day with my legs open. (lucky me!!) I can't copw ith this for another 4 months!!!!!!!! I wish I could give up work, but unfortunatley, needs must and all that.

I have an appointment to see the MW in 2 weeks ( earliest I could get) and I'm not going to see the GP, as all the ones in our practice are scared by pg women, so I'll have to grin and bear it until then, when hopefully, I'll get some physio. In the meantime, I wonder if anyone could give me some tips on how to cope. I know keeping my knees together is one (maybe I should have done that 5 months ago!!) but otherwise, I haven't a clue!

girrafey Fri 12-May-06 08:16:38

get a bin liner in your car as it makes getting in and out easier as you slide.

when you sit, ( not with cello) then sit with your knees together and your feet in lines with your shoulders, helps stregnthen muscles.

have massages. i had them weekly and found they really helped.

after a cello lesson have a bath with 2 spoons of sugar in it. it helps naturally recover the muscles. ( as a dance teacher we advise this after any large class)

i dont know the age you teach, but if young perhaps choose a special helper for each class, and that person can get things for you etc to save you geting up and down, and then reward them with a choclate etc.

also if you can try sitting on a table. take a little step ( childs potty step or such like) and then you just step up and turn. i found this easier then getting up and down out of a chair.