Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Herbal teas

(15 Posts)
mrsmummytobe Wed 03-Apr-13 23:33:02

Hi everyone,

I'm totally new to this but my dh & I want to start ttc either end of April/beginning of may. I'm trying to get into good habits now & I have cut out caffeine & have been drinking herbal tea instead. I read somewhere that not all herbal teas are safe when pg. Can anyone shed any light on this please?

Littlemissexpecting Thu 04-Apr-13 06:51:54

Don't drink too much green tea as it can affect folic acid absorption. Peppermint fine. Not sure about the rest.

pinksky Thu 04-Apr-13 07:22:59

I usually drink a lot of herbal tea but have stopped and am having mainly lemon tea or boiled water (fun, I know!). I just looked up individual ingredients as it's easier that way, but off the top of my head I've read that chamomile, nettle, licorice root, sage and green tea should be avoided. the herbal teas I usually drink are not commercial bagged tea but loose, so that's why I'm being more cautious (stronger concentrations).

mrsmummytobe Thu 04-Apr-13 09:30:58

Thanks for the replies. I think lemon & hot water may be the way forward for me too, pinksky! I love teapigs tea bags & I have got a whole range of the flavours but think sadly most of these will probably have to be avoided when I'm actually pg.

KatAndKit Thu 04-Apr-13 09:35:44

The sort of stuff you can buy in the supermarket is fine (like the twinings fruit infusions). You may have to be cautious with stuff from a health food shop but the ordinary fruity infusions are fine.

mrsmummytobe Fri 05-Apr-13 07:35:23

Thanks for the advice, KatAndKit. I'm going to see what else I can find out about the individual flavours online.

Alexandra6 Fri 05-Apr-13 08:10:51