Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Travelling Pregnant

(12 Posts)
backpackingnewbie Sat 30-Mar-13 01:32:49

I've been travelling for about 6 months. The first 4 months were with my partner. Now I've left him behind to work and joined my friends in Asia and I found out I was pregnant in Burma about 4 weeks ago. I'm now 10 wks and I'm in Vietnam. I went back to the UK for a week but was unable to get a mw appointment, but saw my GP. I'm booking in for my 12 wk scan in Bangkok. I feel fine apart from mild nausea and constant tiredness. I stopped taking my malaria pills. I've stopped smoking. Luckily, my travel buddies are lightweights so drinking was not an issue anyway.

I'm happy about the pregnancy. So is my partner. We're getting married as soon as we're back in the UK. Physically, I feel fine. I'm freaking out on the inside, though. I don't want to stop travelling. I have a month left. I'm being careful and have adjusted my plans to make sure I'm taking as few risks as possible. I just feel so alone. And scared and have no-one to talk to about how I feel. My whole life has changed all at once and I'm thousands of miles away from home. I guess I just want someone to tell me it'll be ok. I'll be having my scan alone and I'm worried sick...

olympicvibes Sat 30-Mar-13 01:57:39

Congratulations! I'm 39 weeks with my first baby. So is your partner back home now and you always planned that you would go on to do another month or so travelling? Are you planning on going home in 4 weeks?
Can a friend go with you to the scan in Bangkok? Concentrate on the positives that you feel and are doing well. You could have had awful morning sickness..