Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

absolute beginner- help please

(9 Posts)
MooMe Sat 10-Nov-12 22:18:21

Hello all
This is my second pregnancy- my LO wasn't born here (we moved to the UK 5 years ago), and seeing that my GP surgery are absolutely rubbish (they never answer the phone!)- please help me- what do I do now?shock

I've looked online everywhere but everyone seems to just naturally know what to do and I need an idiot's guide on how to do what!

Do I contact the surgery and book a doctor's appointment? Do I book a nurse's appointment? Or is there a special midwives surgery that I need to contact?

I know the first ultrasound is preformed on week 12- that's a LONG way away- what if I want to have a scan before that? We have private insurance if that matters... And the second scan is week 20? how do I book it? how far in advance? other than these two appointments- is there anything other than routine weighing?

Any help and knowledge will be MASSIVELY appreciated.
huge thanks! thanks

NellyBluth Sat 10-Nov-12 22:22:57

Congrats!

Call your doctors and tell the receptionist. Most places make you see the doctor, but I think some places might send you straight to a midwife. Anyway, they make you an appt and the GP/mw fills out some forms and books you in for a) your booking in appt with the mw, at about 10w, and b) your scan at 12w.

If you want to have a private scan beforehand you can, but I don't think private medical insurance will cover it. Private scans are around £100.

All my scans were just organised - at the 12w one they booked me in for the 20w one.

But you do need to keep calling your GPs, I know they can be rubbish at answering the phone sometimes, but everything comes from them.

chocolateteabag Sat 10-Nov-12 22:42:57