Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Applying for a new job whilst newly pregnant.

(22 Posts)
Hornplayinggirl Mon 05-Nov-12 22:00:26

Hi,

Looking for some opinions on this......I work in education and I currently live a long way from my family. I have been trying to get another job closer to my family for about 4 years now but there has been absolutely nothing to apply for. My husband and I have been thinking about trying for a baby for about a year but have put it off in the hope we could move home first. Sods law that we decide to go for it and I end up pregnant straight away (now that I am complaining!) but now a job has come up in EXACTLY the right area.

The job doesn't start until Easter at which point I would be about 6 months pregnant. I would loose SMP as I would be employed by a different LEA so I would only qualify for the Maternity allowance. My two questions would be:

1. Would the new employers be really annoyed? (I wouldn't be off for long as I couldn't afford to be. The aim would be to return in September)

2. Am I totally mad for doing this? (the phrase wanting it all and wanting it now spring to mind!!)

My parents and husband really want me to go for it, with my mum offering to help with child care, but everyone at work say I would be totally mad to do this.
I just want to be near my family, as I think in the long term it would be a better standard of life for all 3 of us.

Am I mad to have a little bit of short term pain (having to return to work really soon after having the baby) for long term gain (having family around to help)??

backwardpossom Mon 05-Nov-12 22:16:34