Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Anyone else have a doppler

(15 Posts)
Ameliac28 Thu 18-Oct-12 12:26:14

My friend is letting me borrow her doppler till the baby is here and I'm so excited about going home tonight to use it! there is no other noise that satisfy's me more then hearing my baby's heartbeat smile does anyone else have one? I've promised myself not to obsess over it and use it all the time and to not panic myself if I can't find the heartbeat as I'm not a pro at this but would be lovely if it does all work x

18wksplus Thu 18-Oct-12 12:40:09

How many weeks are you? It's hard to hear it until about 14/15wks plus, depending on baby's position and where your placenta is. So you may well obsess. And don't panic if you can't find the heartbeat: there's a bit of a knack to it (anything around the 100/min mark is you btw!). But I love mine! Be warned though - some people are very opposed to them.....

Mixxy Thu 18-Oct-12 13:00:01

I can't feel my baby move with any regularity at 23 weeks and keep being told its nothing to worry about yet. So I caved and ordered a doppler and it should arrive today. I'll let you know how it works out. I'm not sold on the idea myself, but this is what happens when you have shitty health insurance (in the US).

minipie Thu 18-Oct-12 15:57:34

I have a doppler, Angelsounds I think. I used it quite a lot between about 14 weeks (when I got it) and 23 weeks, not so much after that as I was feeling regular movements by then. It did take a while to find the hb sometimes.

Make sure you know what you're listening for. The baby's heartbeat sounds very fast, like a train or galloping horses. There is also a slower whoosh...whoosh sound which can be mistaken for the baby but is actually the placenta. Or you can hear your own heartbeat which again is a lot slower than the baby's.