Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Phantom pregnancy

(8 Posts)
tiggy114 Thu 04-Oct-12 18:22:51

I have them all the time as my belly gets swollen with IBS. But this time no IBS. My background is that i don't have periods. Tests havn't reveled why. But i seem to be super fertile. I caught on first try with my DD. So i wouldn't know if i'd missed a period. I have a memory of feeling sick just once months ago and thats it. Thing is my belly is big and round and i look 5 months pregnant! I can also feel flutters (i feel em in the phantom pregs as well though coz of IBS. I'm not on contraception but we've been careful using pull out method. I took 2 pg tests though and they say -ve. But does hcg hormone lessen after a while? Would it pick up if i was 5 mo? Also my bellys hard but if i lie down, i can't feel owt in there. Any thought?

tiggy114 Thu 04-Oct-12 18:23:56

Also i've had awful heartburn. Been chugging the rennies!!!

LimeLeafLizard Thu 04-Oct-12 18:38:02

Phew, you have my sympathy - the IBS must be very annoying, and combined with lack of periods, I can understand how you wouldn't know that you were pg.

As I understand it, the pg tests would still show +ve later on in pregnancy - but I'm sure if you're worried the doctors would do a blood test, considering your circumstances.

Hope you get the outcome you want.

tiggy114 Thu 04-Oct-12 19:04:07

Thanks lime. Don't really want another tbh. If it happened it happened but it's more likely to be my imagination. Just when i googled hcg levels dropping agin, i was like, well how would you know then coz a test wouldn't work!

HaveALittleFaith Thu 04-Oct-12 19:37:43

Yes if you that far along a home pregnancy test may give a false negative. this explains it better than I can. Also the withdrawal method really isn't a reliable form of 'contraception'.