Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Novice

(10 Posts)
lauraellajane Sat 29-Sep-12 16:28:48

Hi everyone smile

I'm a newbie to mumsnet and the concept of pregnancy...!!

My period was due about a week ago and never showed, so I did a test this morning and the lines went pink immediately - eek! We haven't been planning, though have been married 5 years and always had children in our minds for the future.

What do I do now? Assume I just need to see my GP but should I perhaps wait a few days and do another test to confirm? And how on earth do you work out if you can even afford a baby? Childcare costs are scaring me!

paddycat1 Sat 29-Sep-12 16:35:12

My advice is wait a few days and do another pg test preferably the digital clear blue one as it will tell you in writing! Then go to tell your GP and they will then give you all the information you will need. If it's to be you and your partner will find a way to support your baby. You do not need everything brand new to start with you can get secondhand baby clothes as they grow so quickly as they develop. Friends and Family i am sure will support you as well once you are out of the 12 to 14 weeks stage and threat of a miscarriage has passed. Good luck it is best to have children when you are younger as it gets harder to conceive the older we get. Best wishes x

Pontouf Sat 29-Sep-12 16:57:27

Congratulations! Sounds like you're defo pregnant! I'd make an appointment with your GP who can give you all the info you need. They'll probably just tell you to make an appointment with the midwife at your surgery for when you're around 8-10 weeks. Don't forget that pregnancy is calculated from the first day of your last period. So if you have a typical cycle of around 28 days and you are a week late you are probably around 5 weeks pregnant!