Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

University, baby due just before exams?

(11 Posts)
needsadviceplease Sun 09-Oct-11 12:17:48

Hi,

I'm new - hope this is the right place to post my question.

I'm just coming up to 12 weeks pregnancy and I'm a 3rd yr student on a part-time (4yr) degree. Going from LMP, my baby is due between 25th April - 10th May. The university exam period is from mid-May through June.

Do you think I will have any leeway to sit my exams a bit earlier or later? I definitely don't want to defer, but I also really don't want to be doing exams before baby's 3 months. Do you think it's likely they'll be understanding? Can't find any policy at all referring to my circs on the website and know I'll have to talk to my course director, but figure it makes sense to be as well-informed as possible before I have that conversation.

Any help, advice etc really gratefully received! Thx.

HillyMcGrew Sun 09-Oct-11 12:34:16

Don't do both! I know you don't want to defer, but you may have to. Your uni will probably leave it up to you to make the final call (mine did) but surely you don't want the added pressure of getting all of your assignments in on time coupled with managing your pregnancy. By the time you enter your final trimester, all you may want to do is sleep, not revise or complete coursework. And how will you cope if you go over your due dates?

Your uni may allow you to take your exams at the end of the summer, when the resits are being run, but check and make sure that yours will not be treated as resits if you get this option. In my uni, students could only get a maximum grade of 40% (a minimum grade pass) if they took a resit, whether they'd turned up to the original exam or not.

Go and talk to your course convenor first. They will have had this sort of thing happen before, and will be best placed to advise you. And good luck!