Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

I don't know what to do . .

(18 Posts)
misslilly24 Tue 27-Sep-11 21:06:43

Hi everyone,

This is my first time with posting anything...

I'm 21 year old and found out I'm pregnant, and I don't know what to do.
I went to the doctors today and he confirmed that by looking a my test I am and to go back on Friday to do another test. He's thinks I am only around 4 weeks which I no is very early.

But I just don't know how I can cope not only having the baby, the stress on my body and how to look after it properly for the baby, but the birth and well raising a child. I'm so scared and have no one to talk to really about how I feel.

I am in a secure relationship with my partner, when the baby is born I will of been with him over 2 years and will be 22, he will be 26.
We both work full time, he's a scaffolder and I work for and engineering company. We rent a 3 bedroom house and have new car.

We do however have some debt and my partner is rubbish with cash, I'm so scared incase we can't afford it, if we will get in more debt, and I can't provide it with the lifestyle I want for it.
Also I have just started with my company, i'm nearly through my probation. But I don't want them to give up on me, and not bother training me because I'm pregnant. Then there is maternity leave, I don't know how long you are off for, what I would be paid, and when I do go back to work stuggle with child care.

I have no real immediate family as my parents will be moving abroad, so I would have no help in that respect either. Plus they would be so dispointed that I've ruined my career.

I also miscarried a few months ago, which was really sad, even though I wasn't planning a child. So the thought of having an abortion is horrible, so I would reluctunantly use that as a last resort.