Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Realistic Tips an Advice sharing

(13 Posts)
PollyDynamite Tue 20-Sep-11 11:18:03

Hello Everyone,

I am trying to writing a realistic guide to Pregancy and New babies for some friends who are expecting and trying to conceive. I am not an expert myself, having had only one little'un myself four years ago and tbh I don't have a great memory!

So I was wondering if all you Supermums out there would help by sharing your realistic tips and practical advice of pregnancy and those first months of Motherhood. I am looking for those tips and advice that all the books on the market and the Midwives don't tell you. I want to write it in the style of all the girls together sharing tips over a brewbrew!

What are your experiences and what useful knowledge would you share with other Mums to be? Those things that perhaps you wish somebody had told you beforehand.

All help and advice will be invaluble, greatly received and put to extremely good use.

Thank you in advance for help you can provide.

PD x

Scheherezade Tue 20-Sep-11 12:32:31

My main one would be to prepare for random aches and pains which don't mean anything other than "well, you are growing a baby in you".

I've had SPD and horrible crippling groin/pelvic pain, a ripping/tearing pain in my side earlier on in the pregnancy, a stinging, stabbing pain across the top of my bump and under boobs.... and then there's labour! grin

whostolemyname Tue 20-Sep-11 12:41:38

You could get them the mumsnet guide to pregnancy?

HidingInTheUndergrowth Tue 20-Sep-11 12:43:24

Ensure you always put aside plenty of time for going to the toilet.

Davinaaddict Tue 20-Sep-11 12:44:48

Why don't you recommend the MN Guide to Pregnancy? That's got loads of personal advice and covers the fact that every pregnancy/baby is different which I think is actually the best titbit!