Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

what would you do?

(13 Posts)
gapants Sun 11-Sep-11 18:36:50

I am a sort of teacher and I manage my own diary, there is a maternity cover person who I have to hand over to. I am due to stop work in 3 weeks time, but as I am already 34 weeks pregnant, and this is my 3rd baby I am shattered and feel like I want to stop earlier.

I have SPD, and have a physio appointment next week to help with that. I am not sleeping well, and have terrible heart burn. I just feel a wreck. I feel like I would be letting everyone down by stopping early, but the idea of going into work everyday, working the teachers and children-so quite full on- would be too much.

What would you do? Should I just say look I am beat, I need to finish up early, sorry. Or should I shoulder on?

ThroughTheRoundWindow Sun 11-Sep-11 18:48:45

You have to put yourself and baby first. Most employers do understand and will find a way to manage. You mustn't feel guilty (hard I know).

Alternatively can you reduce hours for last three weeks to do handover? Just mornings maybe, or 3 days a week?

londonmackem Sun 11-Sep-11 19:02:02

I wouln't hesitate as you come first along with your baby. No child's education will be hugely affected.
If you decide to reduce your hours check this won't affect maternity pay as I assume you get school holidays so don't have annual leave to take.

Mum2be79 Sun 11-Sep-11 19:04:51

Go! I'm due 1st January and going on Maternity on 2nd December. If I need to, I WILL stop earlier. Your health and the baby's health must come first. As said, no child's education will be drastically damaged by you deciding to go earlier. And anyhow, probably better now than later in terms of children's familiarity and routines. (I'm a teacher too - Year 1!)

gapants Sun 11-Sep-11 19:24:10