Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Is anyone else making their own baby blanket or doing something similar?

(63 Posts)
MrsHuxtable Sun 04-Sep-11 15:54:22

I just started yesterday. I had decided for a while that I wanted to make my baby a personal gift so settled on crocheting a blanket. I'm an absolute beginner so have used youtube for instruction videos.
Just wondering if anybody else is doing this while waiting for their baby to arrive..

NoodieRoodie Sun 04-Sep-11 15:57:00

I haven't done this but so far my DM has knitted a cot blanket, my MIL has crotcheted one and my gran has made a patchwork cot blanket so my baby's going to have lots of personal homemade things.

So far I'm trying to motivate myself to get knitting!

scepticalexpat Sun 04-Sep-11 16:03:26

I'm knitting a really complicated baby blanket with elephants in different colours knitted in, a border, embroidery, applique, and a crocheted edge. God knows what I was thinking - the baby had better not come early as I'll need all the remaining 9 weeks to finish it!

localcrackpot Sun 04-Sep-11 16:07:09

I'm doing a big counted cross-stitch alphabet sampler that will have the baby's name, weight and date of birth on eventually.

MrsHuxtable Sun 04-Sep-11 16:10:31

You all sound like total experts. I'm soo jealous. I was wondering if there is a way to incorporate the baby's name into the blanket but I'm worried it'll be too difficult for me..

Misty9 Sun 04-Sep-11 16:17:56

I'm doing the most basic blanket possible smile involves stitching a piece of fleece and a piece of patterned cotton together then turning right-side out. I considered knitting one but due tomorrow and haven't even managed to finish sewing the simple one... blush it is hand sewing though...

cat64 Sun 04-Sep-11 16:20:53

Message withdrawn

PotteringAlong Sun 04-Sep-11 16:32:26