Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

High HTC Levels at 5/6 weeks

(6 Posts)
spannermary Tue 30-Aug-11 21:26:15

Evening all! So I have spent the day at the Early Pregnancy Assessment Unit, giving blood & being examined as I am 5/6 weeks pregnant (yay!!). I have the HTC results back. Having being told above 1000 is good, they are a whopping 61,648! I'm heading back in the morning for a 6 week scan, but I have no idea what these numbers mean. The nurse sounded happy but it seems really high! Reassurances would be appreciated. smile

Cheers, Spanner

PS I was sent there by GP as I had very slight bleeding a couple of weeks ago (prob implantation spotting) & a sore stomach. They're happy there's nothing sinister about that and think Ectopic v unlikely. I'm such a newbie here...and am scaring myself by googling symptoms! Bad idea...

griphook Tue 30-Aug-11 23:03:03

Not sure, but iirc my htc levels were high with my first preg. Not it was picked up on, I was looking through my notes, and everything was fine.

griphook Tue 30-Aug-11 23:04:03

hcg

spannermary Wed 31-Aug-11 07:22:13

Thanks guys - ps yup hcg - told you I was a newbie!!

Wombat33 Wed 31-Aug-11 11:53:42

I had high hcg levels - if I remember correctly they were 29000 at 4.5 weeks and nearly 70000 a week later. All seems fine so far (baby due in 9 days!). Try not to worry and good luck for your scan. With those bloods you should expect to see a heartbeat I think!

spannermary Wed 31-Aug-11 16:43:38

Thanks, griphook and Wombat33. I've had a lovely day today, seeing my baby on a scan for the first time - heartbeat and all! You're right too that the HCG levels are nothing to worry about: it turns put I'm 8 weeks pregnant; not 5/6!

Feeling rather soppy now. Big smiles all round! smile

Join the discussion

Join the discussion