Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Blood tests in pregnancy... Scared.

(15 Posts)
Changing2011 Sun 14-Aug-11 20:34:12

Hi, I am 13 weeks pregnant and next week I have to attend hospital for another scan and blood tests. I am not good with blood tests. From what I remember from my last pregnancy, they take quite a lot! And I get very faint and panicky. I am scared! Can anyone reassure me, seriously, I would rather get on with labour than face the needles! It's the main reason I ruled out an epidural last time and I didn't even change my mind when I was 5 cm! I know the tests have got to be done...

RollingInTheAisles Sun 14-Aug-11 20:43:40

I am the same as you but actually (and unbelievably) got used to it during pregnancy.

Also what helps me is asking to lie down while they do it (practically impossible go faint then which takes away that horrible sicky feeling), thinking 'it's for the baby', asking the person doing it to talk to you about something unrelated, and lastly thinking 'whatever happens it will be over on a couple of mins and so it doesn't matter if I feel scared or faint I just have to turn my head and sit still'.

You will be ok!

NigellaLawless Sun 14-Aug-11 21:15:46

Hi, I am notorious for getting faint with needles, so whenever I have had blood tests taken I always tell teh midwives 'I am really bad at this and might get faint' they always get me to lie down. i tell them that i am not ignoring them but won't look at them until all traces of the needles are out of sight and they have all been really great adn understanding.