Talk

Advanced search

Post natal pain relief???

(22 Posts)
VeronaH Tue 09-Aug-11 19:13:18

Just wondering what kind of pain relief was offered after baby was born, and how good are they at giving it out?? i am booked into watford so any experiences there or anywhere else would be much appreciated.
thanks

nunnie Tue 09-Aug-11 19:31:11

I was given some pain relief (not sure what but there was a bag so there was more than one item) after my 1st as I had to have a MROP.

With my 2nd I left with alot of pain relief etc because he was born via EMCS.

Not sure if pain relief is provided in a problem free birth as I have no experience of that sorry.

Flisspaps Tue 09-Aug-11 19:37:04

I was offered paracetamol, and that was for a 3rd degree tear and soreness following manual placenta removal.

I don't know if they offer anything in an uncomplicated birth, but I have seen paracetamol put on various threads about what to put in your hospital bag so I assume not!

nunnie Tue 09-Aug-11 19:42:29

Should have said they weren't brilliant at pain relief timings when I was in hospital as they tended to stick to their ward round times which didn't always fit with the timings I needed, but all I had to do was ask and as long as I was prescibed it and due some they got it for me.

VeronaH Tue 09-Aug-11 20:28:14

i had my first baby in another country and i got great pain relief, was given some supository after birth and also solpodol if i needed it. paracetamol, might has well give me smartiessmile I had assisted delivery on first but i am hoping this time i will also be given good pain relief for after. will bring boxes of solpodine with me just in case. thanks for the feedback ladies

Nunnie, what is an MROP?

apple99 Tue 09-Aug-11 20:53:16

I was offered a Voltarol shot in my lady bit's after I had been stitched up to reduce swelling (I had had an episiotomy and ventouse delivery). And then offered paracetamol regularly during my 3 night stay.

zdcgbjm Tue 09-Aug-11 21:04:43