Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Thyroid Stimulating Hormone (TSH)

(7 Posts)
Cambridgemother Mon 01-Aug-11 18:41:40

Dear All

I'm just looking for some reassurance really. I suffer from Hypothyroidsim and my TSH has been up at 5.3. It was only in week 15 of my pregnancy that I was advised to increase my dose from 50mcgs per day to 75mcgs per day, in an attempt to decrease my TSH to <2.5. I was told (by obs and gyn professional) that there is a rise of low IQ when the TSH is high, especially in the first trimester. Is 5.3 considered to be that high?

Many thanks for reading this.

Cambridgemother Mon 01-Aug-11 18:45:13

Sorry, that should be a risk, rather than a rise, in the message above.

Also the 50 and 75mcgs are for thyroxine - thanks again!

ciwi Mon 01-Aug-11 19:33:55

Hi I am no expert as I was only diagnosed hypo in March. I really wouldn't worry about a tsh of 5.3 especially if they are now treating it, there is a thread under conception for people who are pg with an underactive thyroid and I am sure people on there have had higher tsh levels and their babies have been fine x

Cambridgemother Mon 01-Aug-11 20:01:44

Hello there Ciwi

Thank you very much for both your honesty and your advice; both are much appreciated.

Best wishes to you!

Beesok Mon 01-Aug-11 20:07:29

Hi Cambridgemother I think we've been reading similar articles on the web smile I wouldn't worry too much as you are being treated but check out the underactive threads on mumsnet - there some lovely ladies on those who have lots of experience.
I am not going to lie to you - you should keep a tab on this as per a good consultant's recommendation ideally TSH in pregnancy should be maintained at a level close to 1-1.5 so def. insist on being checked every few weeks and make sure your dose is adjusted.

Sarahplane Mon 01-Aug-11 22:14:56