Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Just had a fall- 7 months pregnant - Urgent advice please.

(10 Posts)
emoo777 Tue 28-Jun-11 11:58:49

I work in a lab and was walking along and slipped on something wet and fell over but managed to stick my hands out before I hit the ground (quite a jolt). I thought I had hurt my ankle but that now feels OK. I am just worried about the impact on the baby. Tried to phone my midwife but she is in an appointment so has 'added me to her list' to call back. Any advice? Should I try to get seen more urgently? I can feel the baby moving.

MonkeeMummy Tue 28-Jun-11 12:03:18

Poor thing... hope someone more helpful comes along but until then... have you got a first aid room where you can lie down for a bit until you feel better? Might be worth giving the maternity unit a call but try not to worry... your baby is really well protected in there. Take care.

mumblebum Tue 28-Jun-11 12:07:04

If you feel ok and can feel baby moving then you are more than likely fine. Might be worth taking a break and having some rest while you wait to speak to the MW though. You've given yourself a nasty fright if nothing else. If you are worried then call the hospital. They might suggest you come in for some monitoring.

Mintmagnums Tue 28-Jun-11 12:07:53

I had a fall around 6 or 7 months and the midwife asked if id fallen on my bump (I hadn't) or whether I had any pain in bump (I didn't). And she asked if I could feel baby moving (which I could). She said baby would be fine in that case. So it sounds like your baby is fine too - would maybe try the midwife again in a bit though if she doesn't ring back in the next hour, just for your own peace of mind! As Monkeemummy said, baby is very well protected x

shmoz Tue 28-Jun-11 12:08:48