Talk

Advanced search

The Homerton Hospital. Any good?

(14 Posts)
LDNmummy Thu 26-May-11 20:01:57

Was going to post in Local but wasn't sure so...

I have been registered there since the beginning of my pregnancy and it has been great so far except one arsey receptionist.

I was just wondering if anyone has had a very recent experience of giving birth there?

I know this has been asked before, but I wonder if the quality of care has gotten better in the last year as I have heard terrible things about it before.

I also know that care on the post labour ward (is that what you call it?) is not very good anywhere so am not expecting much there.

The closer I get to the time (just over half way) the more worried I become as I have heard so much negativity.

elportodelgato Thu 26-May-11 20:11:56

Hi there, I have had both my DDs at Homerton - DD2 was born in January so I have some pretty recent experience.

I was induced both times so I expect my experience is not typical but both times I had good midwives and the delivery suite is much improved. I have heard that the midwife-led bit with the pools etc is very nice if you are after that kind of birth. They were a little late getting me an epidural (ie: I didn't get one either time!) but this was because my labours both progressed incredibly quickly from 4cm to 10cm and not through any fault or delay on their part.