Talk

Advanced search

Pregnant? See how your baby develops, your body changes, and what you can expect during each week of your pregnancy with the Mumsnet Pregnancy Calendar.

Missed miscarriage question (poss TMI request!)

(24 Posts)
BlueCrane Thu 26-May-11 15:27:00

This morning I went for my first scan (I should've been 11 or 12 weeks tomorrow) I have had no spotting, bleeding or cramps but there was only a sac measuring 5-6 weeks and nothing in there...so an MMC. We've opted to let things take their natural course and I have another scan booked in for 10 days time. Has anyone any idea how soon things might happen, how much I might bleed, pain I might be in etc? (sorry poss TMI needed!) I would prefer to let it happen naturally rather than have the medical procedure but just trying to guage what I'm letting myself in for!

NewMummy5July2011 Thu 26-May-11 15:45:03

Although I have no experience with this, just wanted to say I'm so sorry to hear about your loss. Have you posted this in the miscarriage section? They (sadly) have experience with this and may be able to give you some good advice. Best wishes. xx

BlueCrane Thu 26-May-11 15:45:59

Thanks newmummy I couldn't find the MC section - will have another look.

NewMummy5July2011 Thu 26-May-11 15:48:18

Hi BlueCrane - you can find it here. http://www.mumsnet.com/Talk/miscarriage

hubbahubster Thu 26-May-11 15:50:18

Hi BlueCrane, so sorry for your loss – didn't want to leave your post unanswered, but you might be better posting on the miscarriage board. The ladies there are lovely and were a massive support to me when I had a MMC last June.

FWIW I opted for an ERPC – like you I didn't have much spotting/no cramps (baby stopped developing at 5 weeks, seen at a scan at 8 and then 10 weeks after a tiny amount of spotting). I figured that my body had already held on for 5 weeks too long and was showing no sign of ending the pregnancy on its own, so for me it was the best solution.