Talk

Advanced search

Childcare

(3 Posts)
Nthirty Mon 13-Dec-10 14:03:51

Does anyone have any experience engaging a nanny for just two days a week?

Local rates seem to £8/hr plus NICs. Is there anything else I am missing?

What sort of things will they normally do? What sort of skills should I look for?

Will two days be seen as worth doing by the nanny?

First child - and not originally planning to need help outside the family - so a bit non-plussed

Any advice gratefully received

BayeauxT Mon 13-Dec-10 14:31:24

Hi, if you post in Childcare & Work section I'm sure someone would come along and answer your question.

I used to have a nanny for 3 days a week, paid £8/hr plus NICs as you say. She used to take DD to toddler groups etc, cook food for her and iron her clothes/tidy her room.

She had another part-time job to give her a full week. I can't remember exactly how it worked, but I asked HMRC to split her tax-free allowance between me and the other (first) employer, otherwise they would benefit 100% from the personal allowance.

shinygiraffe Mon 13-Dec-10 14:36:10

Hi Im a nanny so should be able to help with some of your questions.

1) £8p/h sounds right but that will probably be net pay, you will be responsible for paying the nanny's tax too. You will also have to add in petrol money and a kitty for outings etc, the family usually provide lunch for the nanny too so shopping bills may be slightly higher.

2)You can look to employ an ofsted registered nanny, that way they have to have up to date police check (CRB), first aid and a childcare qualification. You should look for someone who has experience looking after the age group your child is and who has similar views to yourselves regarding disipline etc. You should provide a contract of employment which will include a job description. Usual duties you can expect of the nanny will be childrens washing/ironing, childrens food preparation (I have been asked to prepare family meal in the past and didnt mind at all), general tidy of house at the end of the day, load/unload dishwasher etc, sort childs clothes, toys on regular basis, change childs bedding.

3)You should find it quite easy to find someone for 2 days but bear in mind you may be their second job and might have to pay a higher amount for tax.

Hope you find that helpful, good luck with finding a nanny

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now