Talk

Advanced search

What does Leuc +++ mean?

(9 Posts)
janski31 Fri 10-Dec-10 11:11:07

Hi had my midwife check on wed and my urine sample says the above nothing was mentioned to me just noticed it on my notes am now 39+6.

Also I spoke to my doc about getting tested for strep b a couple of weeks ago and she said she didnt think it was necessary what are your thoughts?

Thanks for reading?

DGirlsandBoysWontGetAnyToys Fri 10-Dec-10 11:14:27

Might it stand for leukocytes? (white blood cells in the urine). Have you a UTI?

Sorry, I have no specific knowledge.

UnpureAsTheDrivenSHOW Fri 10-Dec-10 11:14:52

Leukocytes? They're present in urine when you have an infection but during pregnancy they're often detected without the infection. They'll monitor it I'd imagine.

However if it's more than a trace, I'd have thought they'd check for a urine infection.

No pain on weeing? Burning? Weeing more than normal? Temp?

TheChewyToffeeMum Fri 10-Dec-10 11:15:47

Leuc is short for leucocytes - these are the white cells that fight infection. +++ means quite alot were picked up in your urine. This could be due to urine infection or contamination with discharge (which is naturally high in white cells). It is usually unrelated to strep B infection which would be found on a swab.

Did you have any symptoms of urine infection eg. frequency (even more than normal for pregnancy), urgency, leaking, nausea, feverish?

Do you know of the midwife sent off a sample to the lab for culture?

UnpureAsTheDrivenSHOW Fri 10-Dec-10 11:15:57

I wasn't clear really. It's normal to pick up leukocytes in your urine when you're pregnant. Doesn't necessarily mean you have a uti. Ask your midwife though for reassurance.

janski31 Fri 10-Dec-10 11:16:44

No signs of a urine infection ie any of the above, maybe she sent it off to be tested.

StiffyByng Fri 10-Dec-10 16:42:42