Talk

Advanced search

Potty training help

(4 Posts)
emilyjayne5 Tue 24-Jul-18 09:43:22

I'm starting to potty train my little girl who's 2.5 years old and I'm absolutely terrified! It's my first time potty training and I need some tips! So far we've had a dry morning but then I put on a pull up for nap time but then I don't want to confuse her by using a pull up during the day and then pants for the morning and evening! Also we've got a day out planned tomorrow so do I put her in a pull up or pants? Any tips would be so helpful!

OP’s posts: |
NannyR Tue 24-Jul-18 09:52:56

IME pull ups or nappies are fine for daytime naps, they don't cause confusion, just encourage them to go immediately before and afterwards.

You might be better planning to start potty training when you've got a few days with minimal necessary outings (like school runs etc) until they get the hang of it. A day out on day two isn't ideal.
I don't put them in pull ups at all (whilst they are awake) once we've started. Line the pushchair and car seat with towels and plastic bags or disposable pads, have plenty of spare clothes handy and put them on the potty just before you go out.

Potty training isn't as daunting as it seems! If they are ready it should go pretty smoothly.

Aria2015 Tue 24-Jul-18 09:53:45