Talk

Advanced search

2.7yo will only poo in nappy

(3 Posts)
SleepForTheWeek Fri 09-Jun-17 22:41:37

My DD (2.7) surprised us about 3 weeks ago and wanted pants on - I had been suggesting potty training gently for a couple months but she hated the idea of the potty/toilet and I didn't want to push it.

Anyway, since that day she hasn't had one accident - which is amazing - and initially even went to the big toilet for for a poo. This was even more significant as she suffers from stool withholding (which she takes Movicol for) and has always been a bit funny about them.

After about a week I noticed she was holding her poo again 😔 until she had her bedtime nappy on (which we've actually tried her without and she's been dry during the night BUT up about 3 times for a pee so decided we'd keep her in a nappy at night as due another baby any day now and don't need the added sleep disruption!!)

She now won't even consider going for a poo in the potty or toilet. She gets really upset and worked up until she gets a nappy on, then goes almost immediately. She is quite happy to get pants on after although I'm quite sure she would keep a nappy on all day if I let her.

Is this something that will resolve itself? I really don't want her to withhold as that's been one of the hardest parenting periods, but I'm not sure how to go about it?? Have suggested stars/rewards etc and we have the 'poo goes to pooland' app but she still won't go in the toilet!!

OP’s posts: |
SleepForTheWeek Sat 10-Jun-17 21:21:59

Bump

OP’s posts: |
coffeecakemum Sat 10-Jun-17 21:51:01

Sounds similar to my son. We cracked wee training in a week. It does get better. I wouldn't force as it would make them hold it. He had a schedule and used to ask for nappy to poo. He didn't want to use potty or toilet. I used to make him sit in the toilet and keep a nappy ready. Initially I said try to do in toilet but if you want here is a nappy. He used to then put the pull up on.