Talk

Advanced search

Disastrous first 3 days

(15 Posts)
vanishingact1 Wed 01-Jul-15 12:25:19

Ladies I am for the nut house and it's only day 3. Started training DD who is 2.7 - it's summer and I'm a teacher so now's a good time.

We had a brilliant first morning, no accidents and 3 pees in the potty. She has only used it once since and has had constant accidents. I've told her she can get a chocolate button if she uses it, no joy. Put her in dresses as thought she was having trouble getting her leggings off in time. No difference.

The only progress she is making is keeping the pants on which has taken some persuasion. Any tips greatly appreciated!

dementedpixie Wed 01-Jul-15 12:30:46

Are you taking her to the toilet regularly or relying on her to tell you when she needs it?

to start with I took mine at regular intervals or when their body language indicated they needed to go. It took a few weeks before they told me when they needed the toilet

vanishingact1 Wed 01-Jul-15 12:35:08

Thanks for reply! I'm putting her on it every 10 mins or so - she doesn't tell me when she needs to go. She is quite happy to sit on it but will pee on the carpet right next to it!

nottheOP Wed 01-Jul-15 12:37:33

DS was a bit of a shocker but thought that he was getting quite old for nappies, the first few days are going to be tough and I'd rather not quit and repeat the first few days again!

We just put him on the potty every 30 minutes and gave a bit of easter egg every time he did a wee. He had to learn to make the wee come when he sat down, turn it on if you will. He certainly wasn't one of these who got it in two days but by the end of week 2, he was down to one accident a day where he stayed until the end of the second month. He then majorly regressed and was wetting himself up to 6 times a day for a week or so.

He then 'got it' and has been mostly dry for a month or so bar the odd accident mid tantrum. Poos are another story but wise mn-ers tell me it's a boy thing.