Talk

Advanced search

Breast feeding and insomnia

(6 Posts)
Letly Sun 14-Jul-19 12:51:25

Hi all. Sorry if I've not posted this in the right place, this is my first time.

I'm wondering if anyone has had any experience with what they believe to be breast feeding induced insomnia, or insomnia upon giving up breast feeding? My LO is nearly 7 months and for the past month I've been weaning off the breast. I've never been a good sleeper, even less so since having my eldest child 4 years ago. But over the past month my insomnia has gone off the scale. I seem to remain at the stage where you just start to drift off, and on a good night may achieve a doze on and off for maybe 4 hours. A bad night no sleep at all. I've tried upping the BF again to see if it helps, but it doesn't seem to. I feel I've tried everything there is to try (within bf boundaries) to help me sleep, and no luck. Which makes me wonder if it's hormonal. If anyone has any experience of this please let me know if it passed and if anything helped? It's not associated with pnd, as some of the worst nights have fallen on days where I've felt the best. Thank you xx

JoMumsnet (MNHQ) Mon 15-Jul-19 15:04:16

Hi @Letly, we're going to move your thread over to our Postnatal Health topic (we couldn't decide whether that or Infant Feeding was the best fit for your thread, but hopefully you'll get some support and advice from other Mumsnetters before too long).

Sorry you're going through such a tough time. flowers brew

JoMumsnet (MNHQ) Mon 15-Jul-19 17:45:19

And another bump for luck.

Letly Mon 15-Jul-19 19:03:04

Thank you so much. Yes, I would have chosen that subject too smile

Blondiecub0109 Mon 15-Jul-19 19:40:25

Hi @Letly! I don’t have a definitive answer but am also suffering. My DS has just started weaning (5 m.o.) and for some lifestyle and reflux reasons he’s getting 2 bottles of formula - mid am and mid pm. He’s still fed by me morning, noon, early eve and once or twice in the night.