Talk

Advanced search

As with all health-related issues, please seek advice from a RL health professional if you're worried about anything.

Going for a number 2 after birth... How long?

(18 Posts)
Stinkylinky Fri 03-Jul-15 12:48:44

I gave birth 4 days ago to our lovely DS after a 24 hour long labour, I had to have an eptopsomy and a forced delivery. MW came yesterday and everything looks fine and healing well but I've been unable to poo. Anyone else had this and how long did it take you to go? Any advice to encourage things to get moving?

Stinkylinky Fri 03-Jul-15 12:50:15

Episiotomy even!

mummypig3 Fri 03-Jul-15 12:57:57

Do you feel you need to go? I didn't for about 4 or 5 days probably because I wasn't eating much. I seem to lose my appetite after birth for a few days while my digestive system is settling down

AlisonBlunderland Fri 03-Jul-15 13:00:49

When i was a student nurse way back in the last century, mums weren't allowed to go home until they had poo'ed !
The only job I was allowed to do was to ask each and every one "have you been?" and if not, give them a dose of something!

UnspecialSnowflake Fri 03-Jul-15 13:05:12

Were you given any morphine after the birth? That can really block you up, I had quite a lot of morphine after I had DD, including a morphine suppository, and I didn't go for days. In the end I ate an entire bag of satsumas and it sorted the problem out.

FernGullysWoollyPully Fri 03-Jul-15 13:07:55

Good grief not for days! Probably about 4 or 5. Maybe even longer. And when I did go, it was quite a struggle. Like you, I had an episiotomy and I had haemorrhoids as well blush I thought my insides would fall out!

Holding a chilled flannel to your cut will help stop it feel like it's going to burst and pouring warm water helps with lubrication and cleanliness. Vaseline on your bum can help too.