Talk

Advanced search

Following a calling

(8 Posts)
ellenjames Thu 02-Feb-17 22:26:30

Have read a similar thread and seen some positive feedback so thought I would ask for advice heresmile.
I am a mature uni student doing theology and history in my final year then hopefully doing a theology masters.
For a while I have felt called by God/Jesus to devote my life including working life to helping others through God's guidance.
I am not a member of a church per se but have been involved in setting up a forest church last year.
I am discussing with my uni chaplain tomorrow about being confirmed and having a chat with him about this calling.
I have been reading lots about people's callings etc (on top of uni stuff wink).
So I suppose I am asking for any info on how other people knew and went about becoming ordained etc.
I am mid 30's with 3 children and a husband, and have been in full time education for 4 years so far so that doesn't worry me. However I have no working experience apart from retail and working with young children in a museum doing voluntary work. I am going to discuss joining the chaplaincy at uni and helping out with that as I should be there hopefully until next September.

ellenjames Thu 02-Feb-17 22:29:45

Plus I know it sounds stupid but how do you manage extremes of emotions? I worry how I would manage dealing with others grief etc as I cry at anything. I am the sort of person that could go to a complete strangers funeral and be in floods of tears as I am so emotional and interested in everyone's life story I suppose.

It sounds like you are doing lots of the right things by talking to the university chaplain and exploring confirmation. I'm C of E so everything that follows is part of that tradition....