Talk

Advanced search

Need some Christian advice

(22 Posts)
GillBates Tue 26-Mar-13 10:22:46

I have 3 DCs and a lovely childminder who looks after my 1yo during the day and my 5yo and 7yo after school 3 days a week. I have been using her since we moved here 3 years ago and she is great with the children, very loving and caring.

During my maternity leave I have been taking my 1yo to a toddler group based at a church. I am a Christian but this toddler group isn't "churchy" in any way i.e. there are no bible stories, singing or anything. My 5yo and 7yo also go to a church after-school group 1 day a week, where there is some bible teaching but it is very relaxed and the children can choose whether to listen to it or play somewhere else in the church hall.

Anyway, the CM has been coming up with some odd excuses about why she can't take my 1yo to the same toddler group e.g. she didn't have any money to pay for it (its 50p and she would charge this to me anyway) or that she's been told by her friends that it isn't a very nice toddler group etc etc. She also won't let her DCs go to the church after-school club and also had some odd excuses why. I asked her about it again today as something just didn't ring true with what she was saying, and she has now said that she won't go into or anywhere near a church as she thinks that they are full of paedophiles!

I kind of stood there with my mouth open and didn't know what to say. Now of course it is entirely up to her what her children do and what she believes but I am feeling really uncomfortable with the idea that the person looking after my DCs has such strong negative views about the church, when me and my family are devout Christians (CofE by the way, not Catholic in case anyone is wondering).