Talk

Advanced search

I've been having un-Christian thoughts about a friend and could do with some advice.

(12 Posts)
LeoTheLateBloomer Mon 26-Sep-11 13:32:56

My local mum friends are all great, loyal and fun and we tend to do things in groups. However, there is one who I'm finding very difficult to like. I'm going to call her 'Jo'.

Jo is a fairly central character as up until now our group have been meeting at her house every Monday. She's big on organising and this is part of the problem I'm having with her. She's trying to organise me and I find her very pushy. A friend of ours lost her DP at the weekend and I decided to organise a card and present. We've started to share out the Monday meet-ups so we were all at my house today. Jo leaped in and tried to take over organising the card. I stood my ground and said I was happy to deal with it but it made me want to punch her very uncomfortable. I'm not very good at being assertive.

She tries to take over lots of other things as well, or she has ideas before anyone else and begins to take ownership. I don't know if anyone else sees Jo's bossiness as a problem or if it's just me. Backing away from her would be very difficult because we have an arrangement where we look after each other's DD once a week and because of our shared friends.

I'm posting this in here because I could do with some sensitive advice which isn't always forthcoming in 'Chat'. I really don't know what to do. I hate having bad thoughts about her and getting it off my chest to another friend seems very wrong because all our friends are mutual.

Any wise words?

allhailtheaubergine Mon 26-Sep-11 13:40:38

You are right not to want to discuss her with another friend. There's a word for that and it's not a nice one.

You cannot change this woman's behaviour or personality.

All this leaves you with is changing your own reactions to her; both what you think and what you do and say. In your position I would decide to take a two pronged approach: