Talk

Advanced search

C of E Mothers Union - anyone run one?

(7 Posts)
bb99 Sun 10-Oct-10 21:10:27

Hello

I am thinking very carefully about possibly re-starting the Mothers Union branch at my church, as it had to be shelved due to the wonderful person who ran it moving.

I am very new to this idea and have looked at the website etc. Was wondering if there was anyone out there with experience of running one and what kind of things you do / did?

DandyDan Sun 10-Oct-10 22:29:32

Have you any chance of getting hold of the new(ish) Mothers Union magazine Families First? There are often reports in there from Mothers Union groups that aren't like our local ones (which have an average age of about 80) but which have younger mums/women in them. I think they do a variety of things - some groups still like "speakers" every so often; they have fundraising projects and activities evenings.

bb99 Mon 11-Oct-10 08:13:32

Thanks DandyDan - I'll have a read on-line.

madhairday Mon 11-Oct-10 13:20:46

I am secretary at our church branch. We are trying to get younger mums in - still very much the stereotypical old ladies club. We are running a parenting course, have had speakers on things like drug abuse, then month to month will have a different focus at each meeting, for example reports from people working in Haiti, making christmas cards for prisoners, etc. We also do days out and run fund raising meals etc. It's just difficult to get past the stereotype of what MU is. The families first magazine is a good resource in doing this though. Go for it - it is worthwhile and worldwide does so much good.

MUcoms Mon 11-Oct-10 16:08:01